Home » True North: Canadian Essays for Composition by Janice MacDonald
True North: Canadian Essays for Composition Janice  MacDonald

True North: Canadian Essays for Composition

Janice MacDonald

Published April 6th 1999
ISBN : 9780201613735
448 pages
Enter the sum

 About the Book 

Janice MacDonald is a bestselling Canadian author who is best known for the even novels featuring amateur sleuth Miranda Randy Craig. The Randy Craig Mysteries were the first detective series to be set in Edmonton, Alberta, where Janice lives and works. The latest installment, Another Margaret, will be released in Fall 2015 by Ravenstone Books, an imprint of Winnipegs highly respected Turnstone Press. It is the eagerly awaited follow-up to the back-to-back bestsellers The Roar of the Crowd (2014), Condemned to Repeat (2013), and Hang Down Your Head (2011).Born on the side of a mountain in Banff National Park, the daughter of a cowboy from southern Alberta and a schoolteacher who herself had been born in a pioneer log cabin in the Peace River Country, Janice considers herself to be a example of the quintessential Albertan. A dyed-in-the-wool Edmontonian, Janice makes no apologies for setting her novels in a recognizable Edmonton and celebrating the things that make this northern metropolis so vibrant and unique.Her heroine, Randy Craig, finds work in various aspects of academe and walks the not-quite-so-mean streets of Albertas capital, finding herself enmeshed in puzzling murders and drinking Java Jive coffee. Janice has also written an award-winning childrens book (The Ghouls Night Out), a university textbook, and several non-fiction/historical titles about her home province.